Know your role

29 Jan

Signing these entries, “Love, Dad,” is really strange. I’m technically not a dad yet, or at least I really don’t feel like one.

My dad is one of my best friends in the entire world. He makes me laugh, he tells me the truth even when I don’t want him to, and he’s always been there for me. I think that’s all you can ever ask of a dad, and I hope to be all of those things for you.

Mom’s tend to have a tougher job. They’re the ones to tell you to clean your bedroom, do your homework, and eat your vegetables. My mom thankfully told me to do all of those things.

I remember my mom sitting with me for hours helping me cram for a test I put off until the last minute. I remember her laughing at me for thinking she wouldn’t notice all of my clothes shoved under the bed, when I claimed I had just cleaned my room. But she would sit there patiently and help me refold everything.

That’s the thing about mothers, they have to be more patient that dads. Luckily for you, your mom is extremely patient—she married me after all.

We’re going to try and be the best parent we can be, but just remember, this is all new to us, so please be patient.

Love,

Dad

1-26-12

One Response to “Know your role”

  1. Amy (Danevicz) Fish February 24, 2012 at 9:34 am #

    You do have great parents, definitely good examples to follow. You are going to be a great dad!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers